Who’s the best sidekick?

I’ve started reading Nero Wolfe and have become torn over who is the best fictional detective sidekick. My nominees are not hard to figure, James (or John) Watson, Captain Hastings, and Archie Goodwin. Watson and Hastings are very similar. Brave, loyal, but not the sharpest tool in the shed. Archie’s also the heavy but has more brains. He and Hastings also seem to fall in love pretty regularly, although Archie doesn’t seem to really mean it. Watson, of course, is way too correct for that.

Am I missing anyone? I only included detectives. I’ve never been a fan of Tommy and Tuppence, and anyway I’m not sure which one is the sidekick. Never read Nick and Nora, only seen the movies, but neither of them seems to be a true sidekick either. Let me know what you think.

Leave a Reply

