Work pipeline

I’m hoping to have my next book out by the end of May. It’s different from the others. It’s a dystopian story set about a hundred years in the future. It isn’t humorous, so I’ll see if that does anything. So far I’m mostly pretty happy with it. I have about 30,000 words in first draft and am aiming for about 50,000.

After that I have an outline of a book that’s kind of a sequel to Poor Richard, at least it uses some of the same characters. That one is more like the others, although it’s fleshed out more than Poor Richard, which was a complaint about that one. Some people thought it was too short and the characters weren’t really developed.

I also have ideas for a sequel to Now Boarding..., as well as a historical series and a more traditional detective series. I’ve decided to dump most of Due Diligence and to start again at some point. I think the idea and some of the characters are pretty good, but the whole thing got out of control and I was spending a huge amount of time re-outlining trying to get it to converge somewhere. I’ll come back to it at some point when I can stand to look at it again.

My New Year’s resolution is to aim to write 5,000 words a week. That doesn’t seem like much but when you take twelve hours out of the middle of five days every week it’s harder than you might think, at least for me. I was doing OK but am running behind this week. That means that I’ll need to hit 2,000 words a day over the weekend, and it’s supposed to be nice out. So we’ll see.

Leave a Reply

