Book Review: The Maltese Falcon by Dashiell Hammett

I’ve always been a big fan of the movie, but I’m not sure I’ve ever read the book before. I’m also a big fan of Dashiell Hammett, The Thin Man, both the book and movie, and The Continental Op series. I have to confess though, that The Maltese Falcon was something of a disappointment.

The really interesting thing is that some of the book is very good, while other parts read like a parody of a noir novel. It seems to me that the weak parts were the ones describing Sam Spade in action, fighting, etc. I also didn’t like the descriptions of Sam Spade much. The general narration, dialogue, other characters, etc. were up to the Hammett standard.

If you’ve read other Dashiell Hammett novels, or if you’re a fan of the movie, you’re likely to be somewhat disappointed by the novel. It’s worth picking up on Kindle and giving it a read though.

Leave a Reply

